Reviews The Little Fish Market

HoveFish, Seafood, British, European££££
Wonderful
5.8/6
447 Reviews
The Little Fish Market Brighton image 1
The Little Fish Market Brighton image 2
The Little Fish Market Brighton image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

447 The Little Fish Market Reviews

Read reviews about The Little Fish Market here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Little Fish Market. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Little Fish Market.

Wonderful
5.8/6
447 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Value for money:Great value
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Katherine S.13 hours ago · 1 review

Wonderful. The flavours, textures and the wines. Best fish restaurant we have visited. The chef mist be a genius.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Nicholas R.16 hours ago · 2 reviews

A wonderfully hot spring evening to celebrate a birthday! Brighton heaving so lovely to reach the cool, calm interior of TLFM! Warmly greeted as ever by the charming and knowledgeable host, Rob, who keeps the whole front of house and the serving of the stunning menu and beverages timed to perfection! Five fish courses plus plus (the warm egg yolk served in an eggshell was superb and such fun) we came away most satisfied having delighted in lobster, turbot, salmon and sea bream amongst other additions. Just try to avoid the bread- impossible! Every time we come (4th visit I think) we always wonder why we left it so long! Thank you Duncan and Rob, for a truly enjoyable evening where both the food and the service took centre stage!

New"Excellent"
6/6
Nicholas Y.8 days ago · 1 review

Excellent. A very well balanced and delicious menu. Very high level of cooking and the best ingredients. The service too was perfect. I hope I can have a table again. The restaurant is tinny.;!

New"Excellent"
6/6
Susan B.8 days ago · 1 review

Exceptional food. Great wine pairing. For me of particular note we’re the banana tart as a don’t do cooked bananas but the small tart tasted exquisite. Fish was perfectly cooked with particular note was the salmon and the spring on a plate bream dish. Memorable meal. Thank you

"Excellent"
6/6
Max W.3 months ago · 1 review

Top-class tasting menu served at The Little Fish Market. The building has incredible character, embodying the history surrounding it with a rustic and intimate decor. The food has a wonderful balance of textures and flavours, juggling cross-boundary twists between the sweet and the savoury, and a balance of texture through a selection of sauces coupled with fresh fish fillets served in a multitude of ways. The chefs really have a strong understanding of how best to structure the menu, and each dish gives off something special and unique to it, encompassing the very best of provenance in the local flavour palettes and the quality of both sourcing and cooking on the incredible seafood produce used. The service is friendly and informative. A worthy recipient of the three rosettes it possesses.

"Excellent"
6/6
Line M.2 years ago · 1 review

Tonight was our first time at The Little Fish Market, and certainly not our last - we had a wonderful evening! The location is ideal, nestled in a quiet residential area just off the high street. Inside it feels very homely although service is likened to a Michelin star - without the fuss but very much personalised. Fish is king of the menu of course, mainly focusing on local and seasonal, but it is the cooking that really highlights the quality of the ingredients: simple, well balanced pairings and seasoning, and a menu well structured that flows right until the end. Best fish restaurant tried in Brighton so far. Thank you Duncan and the team!

"Excellent"
6/6
Kate S.9 months ago · 1 review

The Little Fish Market offers not just a decent meal out but a true dining experience. The attention to detail in the service reflects the care that is taken with the food. The proprietors clearly prioritise a relaxed atmosphere for their customers above maximum profit which would require more staff and result in a busier, frenetic and less enjoyable environment. The quality of the ingredients and their thoughtful combination is magical. I couldn’t pick a favourite course; they were all sublime, and the appetisers did their job - left us wanting more, setting the bar high and we were not disappointed. Low-key, non-intrusive music. I can’t wait to go back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Rose H.2 years ago · 1 review

From the moment we walked into their beautiful restaurant, we were met with a wonderful ambiance, a big smile from their amazing Front of House and asked to choose our table. The service is second to none- unobtrusive but so efficient and the wine pairing was very good and complemented the truly exceptional food. We even had a touch of theatre with the second course- Rockpool. Be prepared to be wowed by the food, it was exquisite, every taste was like a culinary explosion in the mouth. We never felt rushed- in fact you have your table for the whole evening , nicely spaced tables and lots of very happy diners in this welcoming atmosphere. It felt like a personal dinner party in a big house. The front of house musty have overheard me saying it was my sons birthday and the dessert came with a birthday candle. Its all these little touches that give this great little restaurant the 5 stars on Trip Advisor it so rightly deserves. We have eaten at most of the best restaurants in Brighton but this has now become our new favourite. We will certainly be back again and again and again!!!

"Good"
4/6
Harry R.9 months ago · 1 review

Visited with my girlfriend for our anniversary and whilst the majority of the meal (and wine pairing) was great there were a couple of elements that left us wanting more. The service was great for the most part BUT we were never offered the opportunity to give feedback. All of it was a bit presumptuous such as, "That was a great dish wasn't it?" as opposed to "Did you enjoy that?". We were never really offered the opportunity to give feedback or constructive criticism of each course. This was particularly true of the last course, which we found to be only "okay". As big dessert lovers, we were looking forward to the chocolate or salted caramel offerings that were posted on the online menu. Whilst we appreciate the menu is ever-changing, we noticed the sweet course was strawberry which disappointed us both but thought we'd give it the benefit of the doubt considering the restaurant is so well reviewed and the chef is obviously talented. Unfortunately, it wasn't up to scratch compared to the rest of the meal and quite honestly, we wouldn't have booked had we known that would have been on the menu. When you're paying £250 for a meal for 2, you want to leave feeling completely satisfied. Every course built on the last but we found the dessert to be lacking. Perhaps it's personal taste but having a great (expensive) meal fall at the last hurdle does leave a bit of a sour taste and wish they would update menus as they change, rather than giving false expectation and no opportunity to provide an alternative, based on what is advertised.

"Excellent"
6/6
John G.a year ago · 2 reviews

This was the second time my wife and I have eaten at The Little Fish Market and it was once again outstanding. From the moment we arrived we were remembered and made to feel very welcome. The menu sounded excellent and every course surpassed my expectations. The chef did a marvelous job with combination of flavors complimenting each other and everything was cooked to perfection. This has become our favorite restaurant in the Sussex area.