Reviews Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant

Old TownNepalese, Indian, Asian££££
Wonderful
5.5/6
387 Reviews
Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant Edinburgh image 1
Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant Edinburgh image 2
Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant Edinburgh image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

387 Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant Reviews

Read reviews about Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant.

Wonderful
5.5/6
387 Reviews
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Value for money:Great value
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Yvonne C.a day ago · 3 reviews

Another fantastic meal at this restaurant. Would highly recommend... place itself basic but makes up for that quality on food excellent

New"Excellent"
6/6
Robert C.2 days ago · 2 reviews

Best restaurant in Edinburgh. Best curry ever. Will be back

New"Excellent"
6/6
Sharon J.4 days ago · 1 review

Lovely meal created with subtle herbs and spices. Try the carrot desert it's a great way to finish the meal. Our hosts were really attentive and friendly. If I lived locally and not 500 miles away I would be regular.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Bernd S.6 days ago · 1 review

One of the best Indian meals ever. Butter chicken and sea bass were amazing

"Excellent"
6/6
Harry Y.4 months ago · 1 review

The food was excellent! We love Indian and Nepalese food, and we have a favourite restraint back home but this place easily compares to it! The food was exceptional in every way, they cater for vegetarians and vegans with a wide range of choices on their menu, which we can’t find many places! The staff were polite and efficient in their jobs, and they even sang happy birthday when being deserts out for my girlfriend! We had a fantastic time at the Gurkha Cafe and if were in Edinburgh again, it’s the first place I’m coming back to to eat at!

"Great"
5/6
Gemma P.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Could not fault the food or speed of service at all. All waiting staff were very attentive and the food was delicious. Great selection of drinks too! Their draught lager, Everest, is a great accompaniment to anything on the menu. Would be happy to recommend this restaurant to anybody and I already have to several friends. My only small niggle is the close proximity of tables to each other, leaving minimal space for staff to get through or to avoid the back of your chair bumping someone else's. With it being such a popular and enjoyable place to experience though, I understand they want to make room for plenty of people to share in it. Will be a returning customer.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sarah K.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Upon arrival we were greeted and shown to our table immediately. Service was prompt and friendly especially on a very busy Friday (rugby 6 nations weekend). Our waiter advised us on ordering only one order of rice and one order of naan between two which was plenty. I ordered the mo mo starter which was the best I've tasted and the lamb main dish was extremely tender and full of flavour. I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant to my friends and I will definitely be returning again.

"Good"
4/6
Debbie Milligan A.2 years ago · 1 review

My partner and I have been going to the Gurkha for about 4 years now, this trip was my birthday dinner, as always the food was superb, but we have noticed that the service does slip when the restaurant is busy. We even had to ask for the bill three times. One of the main selling points when we first ate here was the service. It was second to none, we just feel a little disappointed when the standard slips, this can't be good for first-time visitors to the restaurant as they will think this is normal which is not the case. We love this restaurant and it is always first choice for our celebration meals and basically any other excuse we can find to eat out.

"Excellent"
6/6
John M.2 months ago · 1 review

Fantastic restaurant in heart of Old Town. Amazing food with fantastic choices. Lamb Madras was lovely and spicy but not mouth burning and portions were perfect. Service was superb and as it is fairly small it had a great atmosphere on the Saturday we visited. However, especially if going on a Saturday, I would advise booking as we arrived at 5pm and by 6pm it was almost full. Would definitely recommend.

"Excellent"
6/6
Nicola B.2 years ago · 2 reviews

The Gurkha Cafe and Restaurant offers amazing food and service. I have been many times now, as my friend Mark Sanky from Edinburgh has been a regular there for years. The food tastes very fresh with lots of herbs, spices and flavour. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Great experience, you definitely need to try and perhaps this may be your new regular place for a curry!