Reviews Plates and Co.

BranksomeBritish, Spanish, European££££
Excellent
5.2/6
285 Reviews
Plates and Co. Bournemouth image 1
Plates and Co. Bournemouth image 2
Plates and Co. Bournemouth image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

285 Plates and Co. Reviews

Read reviews about Plates and Co. here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Plates and Co.. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Plates and Co..

Excellent
5.2/6
285 Reviews
Food:Outstanding
Waiting time:Very Good
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Christine H.a day ago · 1 review

The food was sooo tasty and service excellent. Can definitely recommend.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Sue P.6 days ago · 1 review

Friendly, good service, one slight downside was variations to menu description,which meant I got lettuce salad with two courses, not radish for one and rocket for the other. Otherwise lovely food.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Dave T.11 days ago · 1 review

Great food, wonderful atmosphere, brilliant staff. What a fantastic place, we will be going back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Lesley W.25 days ago · 1 review

Fantastic food and great staff. Lovely venue. Well worth a visit.

"Great"
5/6
Lucy E.a year ago · 1 review

The food was delicious, service was excellent and I would have rated this higher apart from the wine. If you are only going to offer 5 white wines then firstly why make 2 of the 5 both Sauvignon Blanc ? We ordered the Chablis and it was not properly chilled. There was no ice bucket big enough that could chill the wine properly only those thin steel tubes that keep it chilled once it’s is cold already. We had to use ice cubes to chill it and thereby dilute it - poor. Only other minor point was that the chandeliers are filthy and need cleaning/dusting. There are sprays you can buy for this! However we had a lovely meal and thanks go to the staff who kept the restaurant running in the snow when nearly everywhere else was closed due to the weather! We will definitely go back.

"Good"
4/6
Jacqueline E.a year ago · 2 reviews

For £19 for three courses you really can't complain but here's a few tips. My starter was very good but not hot enough. When you explained that the beef was rump I didn't think you meant a rump steak. It might have been wiser to say we have run out of the roast beef. The lights hanging from the ceilings need a good clean, they are covered in dust. Going up the stairwell were lovely candle votives which had the candles not been empty and lit would have created a lovely ambience and also been seen from outside which would be inviting. Also our candle on our table was not lit. If they were at the beginning of service I suggest investing in better candles with a longer burning time as cheap ones are always a false economy. We will definitely be back though because as I said for £19.00 for 3 courses you really can't complain. A few nice touches to the venue and I am sure that could be £25.00 for 3 courses in a few months.

"Okay"
3/6
Denise E.2 years ago · 1 review

Three of my party had the black pudding with poached egg.....the black pudding was lost in the mash potato and all three poached eggs were hard,the experience of a poached egg is when you cut into it should be runny... but unfortunately no runny egg with all three...very disappointing did tell waitress, was going to pass it on to the chef. We were looking forward to having the slow cooked beef, but had run out which was another disappiont!! had to do with rump which was ok . The Yorkshire puddings were cold and soggy probable made earlier and left, which we did understand as you have to pre cook somethings - wouldn't have taken a few moments in the oven to crisp up ,would have made them much more enjoyable. The roast potatoes were not good as well it was not just one person who said it was a few of them . The deserts were the best dish but I had the pineapple which was supposed to be chard came out sliced no char....didn't live up to what menu read. Overall we were not wowed which was ashamed as my husband and I had been for lunch and was delicious . Decide to take family for Sunday but was not impressed not sure if we will return.... Shame!!

"Excellent"
6/6
Robert O.a year ago · 1 review

We booked a lunchtime meal for two. The restaurant, on the first floor of a converted church, was charmingly atmospheric, although the stairs would probably be challenging for the elderly or disabled. In fairness however, there is a bell at the foot of the stairs to summon assistance. The meal itself was generous, by modern standards at least, well presented, delicious and good value ( with the use of a Groupon token). The staff were polite and attentive and the wait for the first course was not excessive compared to some local establishments that I have visited. Altogether a pleasant experience which we shall certainly repeat.

"Great"
5/6
Alison L.a year ago · 1 review

My husband has been wanting to eat at Plates & Co for over a year but until recently I had been too ill to go. I finally took him on 23rd December for part of his 50th birthday celebrations. The setting is lovely. Warm brown wood tables, glass blown chandeliers, candles lit in pretty coloured holders. 3 menus to order from, fast and friendly service but a take your time approach to diners - we were there for 1 1/2 hours and no one was rushing us out the door. The food was hot and tasty. My sticky toffee pudding was divine. We plan to return in Feb for my stepmum's birthday.

"Excellent"
6/6
David K.2 years ago · 1 review

Lovely food. Menu options available for all tastes including special gluten free and Vegan. Vegetarian options available as standard. Did I say food was delicious. Service as you would like it, prompt but unobtrusive. Starters included a perfectly cooked poached egg with black pudding (hers) and scorched mackerel with horseradish cream (mine). Mains chicken confit cassouletish with roasted veg (hers) and fishcake, fishy and not boring, with pickled veg (mine). Finished off with Carpaccio pineapple + (hers) and Chocolate Pie with espresso/caramel sauce (mine). Couldn't ask for a nicer lunch.