Reviews The Chancel

City CentreFish, Seafood, British, European££££
Wonderful
5.6/6
279 Reviews
The Chancel Plymouth image 1
The Chancel Plymouth image 2
The Chancel Plymouth image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

279 The Chancel Reviews

Read reviews about The Chancel here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Chancel. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Chancel.

Wonderful
5.6/6
279 Reviews
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Value for money:Great value
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Service:Excellent
Atmosphere:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Trevor H.3 days ago · 1 review

Good food, good background music, friendly staff. Say no more

New"Excellent"
6/6
Susan R.3 days ago · 1 review

Lovely Tapas, nice staff thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Will definitely return .

New"Excellent"
6/6
Louise W.10 days ago · 1 review

Lovely staff, great food. Very enjoyable. Definitely worth a visit

"Excellent"
6/6
Elizabeth R.16 days ago · 2 reviews

Perfect pre theatre supper in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.

"Great"
5/6
Phill F.2 years ago · 1 review

This was our first visit to The Chancel and we were far from being disappointed. My wife and I celebrated our 44th Wedding anniversary at here and had a lovely time. The atmosphere was great and all the staff were so helpful and friendly with nice welcoming smiles. They were also very efficient and attentive. We were fortunate also that there was a small hen party there who we interacted with, which made the evening even more pleasant with lots of humour. The best bit of all was the food. The portions were generous and not skimpy like a lot of a la carte restaurants. The Chancel gave quality and quantity (but not overloaded) and the food was not only very flavoursome but of good quality. The prices were also very reasonable. We plan to go back very soon and we will be bringing friends here also for a meal when we have visitors. Well done all at the Chancel.

"Excellent"
6/6
Michael C.2 years ago · 2 reviews

The Chancellor was a great experience. A family run business who were clearly working hard to offer great food and drinks. We had a fish stew with was very tasty, we also had a sea food platter which was well cooked and delicious. We were assisted in choice of wine by Neil, who took the time and trouble to suggest wines and provide tasters to help our decision making. We thoroughly enjoyed your evening at The Chancel.

"Great"
5/6
Alison K.a year ago · 1 review

We had a lovely evening with our friends at The Chancel, the staff were friendly, attentive and very helpful, and our meals delicious. I had the fish pie which was very good although it was only white fish whereas i personally would have liked a bit of salmon and smoked fish to be included. This however did not stop my enjoyment at all. My husband had the swordfish with skinny fries and salad which he thoroughly enjoyed. We would definitely recommend visiting here and will definitely be coming back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Dave F.a year ago · 1 review

I went for a long lunch with my wife and it was fantastic. We had Tappas to start and they were superb we had the meatballs, patatas bravas, paprika beef, chorizo and honey this was an excellent choice and very very tasty. Service was superb, kind and staff were happy to help. Lots of good wine to be had. My wife had sea bass and scallops and I had the fillet steak with a pear and walnut salad. Both mains were beautiful to look at and even better to eat top marks. We had been there for over an hour by now and no sign of anyone hurrying us up, thankyou. My wife had a lovely light pudding to finish, then a great cup of coffee followed by a final glass of red. \What a great meal and lovely dining experience, well worth a visit.

"Excellent"
6/6
Tony S.a year ago · 1 review

Read a few reviews on Tripadvisors, the majority of those were all top marks or scored highly. I've also been wanting to try this place for number of years and we weren't disappointed at all, there restaurant was quiet but the service was brilliant, not over the top like some places but attentive, the food was delicious, fresh and full of flavour, also very well presented while still getting a good portion. The wine was great, my wife and I were unsure which wine to choose so the owner/waitress recommended a few and let us try them before we ordered, overall I was very impressed as was my wife who's Birthday we were celebrating and wish to return again in then war future

"Okay"
3/6
Edwina H.a year ago · 1 review

They were very busy when we arrived and warned there would be a long wait but offered bread and olives which was nice. It did however take 30mins for us to be offered even a drink and I had to ask for a menu. The fish cakes I had were very nice and pate my husband had was fine. The Kilmer jars the pate came in really is a faff. The main was some time coming and the plates were cold. Steak was fine although blue rather than rare and seafood platter was ok but a bit greasy. The waitresses were friendly but please, when you clear a table take everything off the small table. I was taught never heave a table empty handed and remove any unwanted clutter. Still has starter dishes on table through out meal and had to ask for cutlery. Lots of people standing at bar which was hindering waitresses access to kitchen which was downstairs as the space was very confined. What I assumed was the owner was standing at the bar drinking wine and talking; he could have been more attentive and seen we were waiting for drinks and served us. Lady who we assumed was also owner or manager offered to call a cab and apologised for wait but too little too late. There was a private party on downstairs which might have been the problem with service, if so put on in more staff.