Reviews The Ruddington Arms

RuddingtonDrinks, British, European££££
Excellent
5.4/6
592 Reviews
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
This restaurant is no longer bookable online with Quandoo
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

The Distillery

Cathedral Quarter
5.3/680
The Distillery

The Black Bull Bar and Bistro

Blidworth
5.4/652
The Black Bull Bar and Bistro

592 The Ruddington Arms Reviews

Read reviews about The Ruddington Arms here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Ruddington Arms. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Ruddington Arms.

Excellent
5.4/6
592 Reviews
Value for money:Good value
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Andrew C.2 months ago · 1 review

Fantastic food, service and selection of drinks. A quality place I'm very happy to have discovered in my doorstep. Definitely going back with friends and family.

"Excellent"
6/6
Julie M.3 months ago · 1 review

Nicely decorated. Very attentive staff and excellent lunch time menu. The food was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. We are looking forward to returning in the future.

"Excellent"
6/6
Sarah L.3 months ago · 1 review

We had a lovely evening. Fabulous food for the whole family. We all really enjoyed our meal, excellent menu. Will definitely be going back again.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jenny D.3 months ago · 6 reviews

Amazing food as always, great atmosphere and lovely staff. Would really recommend having a meal at The Ruddington Arms, it’s the best pub in the village

"Excellent"
6/6
Graham R.2 years ago · 5 reviews

The Ruddington Arms is one of our favourite eating places. The atmosphere is always lively and there is energy and warmth in the air. Mark and Sarah, your hosts, are throughly professional providing everything you may need for an enjoyable occasion be it a family gathering or a quiet meal for two. Food quality is superb and Mark as head chef brings a dish to life - look out for the specials as these are always worth a try. The range of wines is broad with something for all tastes and coupled with the Ruddy Ales and selection of gins you all too likely to be lead astray! Staff are responsive and eager to please. For all the above reasons the RA has become a destination and without a doubt it has brought a new dimension to the village of Ruddington. Try it, for a meal or just a drink with friends, you won't be disappointed. Graham and Jill.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jo B.a year ago · 1 review

Our family birthday meal was perfection. The staff are welcoming, friendly and attentive, checking that you are happy throughout the meal but without being intrusive. The menu posed problems because it really was difficult to choose from so many terrific options. The twice baked stilton and spinach souffle, with a fresh salad was a delicious, light starter. Other family members chose the scallops, which were perfectly cooked and super fresh. The main courses of Portobello and haloumi cheese burger,steak and kidney puddings and halibut were just fabulous. The most impressive thing about this fine dining pub is the attention to flavour balance; seasoning is spot on, the ingredients are always the finest quality, the chefs use combinations which work. We stayed at Angela Barnett's Lime Wood hotel in the New Forest at the New Year and I can honestly say that we both agreed that the food at the Ruddington Arms is superior. It is splendid.

"Excellent"
6/6
Katherine P.2 years ago · 1 review

I have been to the Ruddington Arms several times before and as always, it was lovely. I had the baked egg starter with mushrooms and truffle oil, which was really good and the oil was enough to taste but not too overpowering. I iked the spinach in the dish too. The main was the duck special which was really well seasoned with great gravy and granola which I didn't expect to care for but I actually liked the difference in texture. I had cinnamon donuts for desert which are always fabulous. The staff were friendly and the service was quick. On this occasion I brought friends visiting from London here and they were impressed too. I would always reccommend the restaurant, especially if you don't want to go into Nottingham.

"Great"
5/6
John L.2 years ago · 2 reviews

A very friendly welcome after a longish drive in wintry weather. Decor clean and modern. (Loved the Belfast sink and quirky taps in the 'Boys Room'!) Good menu, with sufficient choices of meats and fish. Didn't have a starter, but desserts offered plenty of choice. Settled on a two flavoured sorbet. Not you average sorbet, I have to say!! Was it worth the journey? Absolutely! My main of Salt cod was to die for, and looking at the near empty plates of my fellow diners, we were all in agreement. Service was excellent, and although we had to wait a little longer than we would have expected, chef was kind enough to apologise. No great deal breaker this as we all concurred on an excellent meal, nicely served and at a price that wouldn't break the bank. We will certainly return to the Ruddington Arms in the future.

"Excellent"
6/6
Graham R.2 years ago · 5 reviews

My wife and I come to this restaurant a lot because everything about it is good and it is managed by true professionals at their craft. This Sunday I ordered the Gressingham duck from the 'Specials Board' it was superb. Mark, the chef, excelled himself with the combination of flavours he managed to create on the plate. I followed this with the cheesecake which came with one of the best sorbets I have ever tasted. My wife and I continue to be surprised and delighted with the quality and presentation of the food in this restaurant. Finally, must mention the fantastic staff who work their socks of on busy days, thanks guys and girls. Graham

"Good"
4/6
Alexander C.2 years ago · 1 review

Food excellence, BUT service was slow for a week day and only about 5 ? tables being used. Also we arrived and when I asked where the toilets were I was told "Oh through there" so I struggled with my mother who couldn't reach the bizarre sink and non named taps. Towards the end of the meal I said this to a member of staff they said "Oh (big word at the Ruddington Arms) there are disabled toilets in a separate place 25 metres away from the main toilets and not signposted at at. The reason I mention this is because my mother was using a walker and clearly disabled. Not friendly, no extra help and even the door with the ramp outside was locked. I had to walk round to ask them to open it.....I'm disabled as well. Food very good, for village pub I thought it on the pricier side BUT excellent selection even if my favourite was on the "specials" board which we were NOT pointed out to us.