Reviews The Winged Ox

City CentreInternational, American, British, Drinks££££
Wonderful
5.5/6
408 Reviews
The Winged Ox Glasgow image 1
The Winged Ox Glasgow image 2
The Winged Ox Glasgow image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

408 The Winged Ox Reviews

Read reviews about The Winged Ox here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Winged Ox. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Winged Ox.

Wonderful
5.5/6
408 Reviews
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Food:Outstanding
Noise levels:Pleasant
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Michelle F.4 months ago · 1 review

Lovely friendly place and dog friendly too. Rustic with a relaxed atmosphere. I thought it was very good value for money. My husband and I had dinner with 2 alcoholic drinks each for less than £35 which is practically unheard of nowadays, especially in a city centre location. We not from Glasgow but have planned a return visit next month and are taking in a gig too. Would recommend.

"Excellent"
6/6
Mike B.5 months ago · 1 review

tasty and interesting food excellent and very attentive service - especially on a very busy night definitely be back

"Excellent"
6/6
Linda H.6 months ago · 1 review

We booked a table but didn’t know it was for the high chairs and beside other people. Lovely waitress got us a table for two . Food amazing as was staff especially. Will be back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jenny M.6 months ago · 1 review

We were here for dinner, drinks and a gig. Great service, really friendly staff, food was fantastic and concert was excellent. Couldn't have been better.

"Okay"
3/6
Louise Suzan S.a year ago · 1 review

Attended a gig at St Lukes for the second time and chose this time to eat at The Winged Ox to be on site for doors opening... we will return to St Lukes, but unlikely to have a pre gig meal at The Winged Ox again. Tables are so close together we felt unable to sit comfortably to eat (and both girls are a Size 10!) and we could hear everything at both tables each side of us, probably because the music was "bar loud" rather than restaurant level and diners therefore had to raise their voices to have a conversation. Talking to each other during the meal was therefore very difficult. Our server was very friendly and helpful, but the food was sadly disappointing. Only the pork belly squares starter out of three starters really pleased and only the Winged Ox Burger Main Course was rated as Good... The only dessert ordered was Bread & Butter pudding and it was apparently very good. Overall, not a dining experience we will repeat... we will eat in Merchant City and just come to the Gig...

"Excellent"
6/6
Lynsey M.2 years ago · 1 review

We've been to the winged ox loads of times since it opened and it's remained a firm favourite with us. Food has always been top class and the staff are the friendliest in any of the places we go. If we ask our wee boy where he would like to go, his answer is always the same...St Luke's! The staff give so much of their time to him (and seem happy to do this) and that means that myself and my husband aren't stressed out about him wandering around talking to everyone! The staff all appear to get on well and look happy at their work with makes for a lovely atmosphere....and as I said earlier the food is always great! We're happy, 3 year old is happy, we will continue to go to the winged ox! Thanks!

"Excellent"
6/6
Isabella M.a year ago · 1 review

Wonderful, from the minute we walked in til the minute we walked out! The staff were so kind and friendly. They made us feel very welcome and nothing was a bother. We took my daughter's dog and she just loved all the attention she received from both the staff and the other customers. The food was amazing and the portions were very substantial! There was also a lot of choice, I can be quite picky sometimes but did not have any complaints regarding the choice or quality of food. There was also a very relaxed atmosphere about the place. We all loved it! Give it a try, I'm sure you will love it!

"Excellent"
6/6
Eve B.10 months ago · 1 review

Atmosphere great, food delicious, staff an absolute pleasure and really good beer. Couldn't ask for better! Place was packed and it all still ran very well. Second time here, will be back!! Also, am vegan and food was good, had a delicious vegan Base pizza (no cheese, but after tasting it was more than happy without vegan cheese), previously had falafel burger but found it to be really dry and needed tomato or avocado with it to make it edible - but I did have bad hangover so could've contributed!! Wife (veggie not vegan) had three bean burrito and devoured it. Sweet potato fries also to die for!! Anyway, massive thumbs up :)

"Excellent"
6/6
Chris M.a year ago · 1 review

Fantastic first visit to the Winged Ox and I will most definitely be returning. Food was fantastic and some good deals on too which I wasn’t expecting, staff were equally as good and very attentive too with both food and drinks served to table in great time. Attend gig in the function room too which was sizeable but still intimate for an acoustic/Celtic Connections gig. There were 2 bars open in the function room and again service was good and timely with queues at a minimum all night. I will certainly be returning here in the very near future, highly recommended.

"Excellent"
6/6
Anne A.8 months ago · 10 reviews

First visit to the Winged Ox and it won't be our last. Great atmosphere and the staff are all lovely & welcoming. We had our very large dog with us and it wasn't a problem to accommodate us, even allowing him to stretch out on the floor as he was too cramped under the table. There was a good varied choice on the menu and the food was excellent, Dudley thoroughly enjoyed his doggy chicken & rice. Great value for money too. I would recommend a visit any time you're in the area.