Reviews A Room In Leith Seafood and Game Bistro Bar

Excellent
5.4/6
215 Reviews
A Room In Leith Seafood and Game Bistro Bar Edinburgh image 1
A Room In Leith Seafood and Game Bistro Bar Edinburgh image 2
A Room In Leith Seafood and Game Bistro Bar Edinburgh image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

215 A Room In Leith Seafood and Game Bistro Bar Reviews

Read reviews about A Room In Leith Seafood and Game Bistro Bar here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at A Room In Leith Seafood and Game Bistro Bar. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about A Room In Leith Seafood and Game Bistro Bar.

Excellent
5.4/6
215 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Noise levels:Very pleasant
Atmosphere:Excellent
Service:Excellent
Value for money:Great value
Food:Outstanding
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Jenny B.3 days ago · 1 review

lovely food in a very nice relaxed atmosphere. Great menu and nice wines.

New"Excellent"
6/6
Annie H.6 days ago · 1 review

Excellent service fantastic food great amophere highly recommended perfect for all ages

"Excellent"
6/6
Terry T.19 days ago · 1 review

A restaurant I have used many times always an excellent evening

"Excellent"
6/6
Fiona B.19 days ago · 1 review

Lovely lunch, great food, service and atmosphere. I will go back soon!

"Good"
4/6
Myrtle L.2 years ago · 1 review

Sunday evening dinner - menu could perhaps either do with being more varied or slimmed down, as there is something not quite right with the choice available. However, aside from that, the mussels are absolutely the best in town and must be ordered. It's great that they're included in the set menu, and they really are delicious. We had both the mariniere and the blue cheese, both superb. They can also be got from the Teuchters pub opposite. The service was not as good as I had been expecting. It was a little careless, and we definitely didn't feel like we were getting the staff's full attention. I liked the informality of it, it just would have been nice to have a bit more energy and confidence. I was pretty disappointed and, as a waitress myself, feel like service could improve a lot without a change of style. Maybe we went on a bad day, although that really shouldn't happen in a restaurant like this. Overall, we had a nice time and a good meal. It just could have been great, and that's what is disappointing.

"Good"
4/6
Hilary E.3 months ago · 7 reviews

This was my first visit to A Room in Leith for a while, and things had changed since my last visit. There was no set menu which we had previously enjoyed on many occasions, and it was no longer possible to BYOB. We all opted for main courses as we didn't really fancy the starters. Two members of the party had mussels which were fine, and the third the venison (delicious). It was a huge portion of mussels, so we didn't bother with deserts. A Room in Leith has always provided solid, reliable menus, with friendly staff, and we enjoyed our visit despite the restaurant being very quiet (though most places are early in January). It was nice to see the restaurant showcasing Scottish fare (game and seafood) so it won't be our last visit.

"Great"
5/6
Elspeth O.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Another great meal at "A Room in Leith"! I have never been disappointed with the food here. Spoilt for choice with the menu, but finally decided on Shetland scallops with asparagus and garlic butter for a starter, plaice fillets on a bed of smoked salmon and chilli quinoa for mains, and a delicious salted caramel and chocolate mousse for dessert. Service was prompt at the beginning of the meal but slowed down a little towards the end, but the restaurant was getting busier. I brought my parents here, as I knew they would enjoy the food and the ambience. They loved it!

"Excellent"
6/6
Barbara W.2 years ago · 1 review

We had a really great dinner here. The food was very nice and the location is superb. Also, the service was incredible---efficient and friendly. My husband and I split the vegetarian platter, which was plenty of food for two people, and our entire table shared all of the desserts, including the cheese course. Don't skip dessert here. The banoffee Sunday, passionfruit mango custard, and chocolate raspberry tart were all really nice, and the cheese slate was lovely. I would love to go back soon.

"Excellent"
6/6
Fiona S.2 years ago · 1 review

A Room in Leith was absolutely superb!!! We arrived 15 mins late, and needed to leave again in 1 hour 30 mins to make a show - staff did an amazing job of keeping us to our schedule without being rushed at all. Staff were brilliant, Manager has excellent customer service skills in his meet and greet. Food was just brilliant, and very well priced. BYOB is a bonus. THANK YOU a Room in Leith - we had an excellent evening.

"Good"
4/6
malcolm s.2 years ago · 1 review

We have eaten at this restaurant before and enjoyed it .Service is very good and friendly and much of the food with concentration on seafood is very good.Lower rating is for three reasons: one main course just did not work -tattie scones with wild halibut could have worked as a starter but should not have featured as a main sweet course had three choices none of which appealed to any of us and very strangely they advertised a range of exotic teas on their menu but when we ordered a variety of different teas the waitress came back to say only one was available-very odd and unprofessional That being said nice people and other dishes were enjoyed by my party