Reviews El Quijote

TollcrossSpanish, Mediterranean, European££££
Excellent
5.3/6
190 Reviews
El Quijote Edinburgh image 1
El Quijote Edinburgh image 2
El Quijote Edinburgh image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

190 El Quijote Reviews

Read reviews about El Quijote here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at El Quijote. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about El Quijote.

Excellent
5.3/6
190 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Atmosphere:Excellent
Food:Outstanding
Service:Excellent
Noise levels:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
New"Excellent"
6/6
Nigel E.9 days ago · 1 review

Excellent food and drink and ,great service . Every course was unusual, tasty and well presented

"Excellent"
6/6
Laetitia W.18 days ago · 3 reviews

Delicious food and friendly service! one of my fave tapas restaurant in town

"Excellent"
6/6
Phil M.24 days ago · 1 review

A lovely tapas restaurant, friendly with great food. Definitely worth trying

"Excellent"
6/6
Andrew B.a month ago · 1 review

First visit but would certainly go again. What's not to like

"Great"
5/6
John N.2 years ago · 3 reviews

After the latest Almodovar at the Cameo we had a couple of hours to kill before the reading at the book festival. I remembered El Quijote from previous visits (2 to 3 yrs ago) and was pleased to find that apart from a change in ownership the restaurant was continuing to serve excellent Spanish fare in welcoming, warm and friendly manner. A tabla de quesos y charcutería, followed by adobo de bacalao then a venison stew accompanied by pimentos de Padrón and rounded off with a home made flan all washed down with a good Rioja courtesy of Luis Cañas made for a great experience and made our night, gracias El Quijote.

"Excellent"
6/6
Dave V.2 years ago · 1 review

We found this little gem more by chance than anything. We were looking to book a table at Café Andalucia but they were full. We fancied tapas and searched for another similar restaurant and we found El Quijote. The food was outstanding and very reasonably priced. Service was excellent and it felt like an authentic Spanish taberna. I would highly recommend this restaurant - we could do with something similar in Liverpool

"Excellent"
6/6
Jim D.7 months ago · 1 review

Excellent food, excellent service. We have not enjoyed better salmorejo outside of Seville (where some of the staff are from), Sancho (ratatouille with chorizo and egg) delightfully seasoned, the calamari was tender, and the tarta de Santiago with cafe con leche was a perfect finish. We will probably come back before we leave Edinburgh, and hope El Quijote will be here when we next return.

"Great"
5/6
Adam A.6 months ago · 1 review

The restaurant was busy and only one member of staff to attend to the customers which he did very well. I was disappointed with some of the dishes we picked and accept I should have asked more for tapas size and not larger dishes as I really enjoy sharing dishes. The restaurant is friendly, small, intimate and I am glad it is run independently and not a chain-store business. All the best to El Quijote and its staff.

"Excellent"
6/6
Peter D.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Read a couple of reviews about this restaurant which didn't rate the food at all, don't take any notice of them. The place is buzzy and cheerful, it's not fine dining it's genuine Spanish food in relaxed surroundings. The guy that served us worked his socks off but was always smiling and helpful throughout our meal. It's easy to tell they take great pride in the dishes they prepare and the ingredients they use. Try the pigs cheeks, Iberian ham, the cod the strips of beef, all excellent. The patatas bravas are the best I've had anywhere, that includes Spain. It's not a massive menu but what's on it is fantastic, just wish there was a restaurant like this where I live, highly recommended.

"Good"
4/6
Ryan L.2 years ago · 2 reviews

Its a good restaurant, atmosphere is nice and the staff were very friendly. However, I've been to this restaurant a few times and this time I would say that the quality of the food was not as nice as I remember when I originally went. Many things on the menu were deep fried items, which is fine... but I don't think of Spanish food as predominately deep fried food. Also, the quality of the food itself was OK, but lacked some creativity. A salad of vinegary red bell pepper and asparagus (both likely from a jar) was quite disappointing. The quality of fish seemed good... but again it was battered and deep fried. Perhaps this is down to our choice from the menu... but I didn't realise several of the dishes would contain deep fried items. I would say that I left feeling full and that the price was reasonable. However, I also felt rather disappointed with the creativity of the food and how it didn't live up to reflect real Spanish tapas.