Reviews Jackson + Rye - Guildford

Town CentreAmerican££££
Very Good
4.3/6
320 Reviews
This Restaurant Has Closed Down.
Don't worry - we have thousands of other places to experience.
Explore All Restaurants
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners
Recommended Restaurants
Here are 5 Restaurants in this area you can book instead:

Limeyard - Staines

Staines
5.2/6306
Limeyard - Staines

Blacks Burgers - Horley

Horley
5.3/616
Blacks Burgers - Horley

320 Jackson + Rye - Guildford Reviews

Read reviews about Jackson + Rye - Guildford here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at Jackson + Rye - Guildford. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about Jackson + Rye - Guildford.

Very Good
4.3/6
320 Reviews
Food:Great
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Value for money:Reasonable value
Waiting time:Very good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Service:Great
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Carla O.4 months ago · 5 reviews

Spent my birthday there. felt very welcome and appreciated. the early bird menu was great value with good choice.

"Excellent"
6/6
Laura L.5 months ago · 2 reviews

Nice ambience and great food! staff very accommodating and the food came quickly which was great as we had hungry kids with us!

"Excellent"
6/6
Simon J.a year ago · 2 reviews

Great brunch as ever, good food and service. Great staff

"Excellent"
6/6
Elise K.a year ago · 1 review

Lovely food and good service. Great to be able to seat a large group quickly on a busy Saturday night in Guildford. Will definitely return.

"Excellent"
6/6
Emily C S.2 years ago · 7 reviews

This was our second family trip to Jackson and Rye, and I am very pleased to say it was an even better experience than before- once again, the atmosphere was striking (reminded me of The Ivy, with an Art Deco/American Retro feel) and the curved booth was roomy and lovely soft leather, with a beautiful view of the bar across the room. The servers were genuinely friendly, attentive, and knew their allergen information, which is always a plus. The food came out really quickly- mini corn dogs were (again) a big hit with the kids, the truffle hush puppies were tasty if a little bland- maybe some horseradish or spicy dipping sauce rather than mayonnaise? But in any case, the entrees were delicious- a huge plate of smoky ribs for Mr S, fried chicken with salty sweet potato fries, and some really zingy spicy coleslaw. The littlest one had macaroni and cheese which she loved, and although the creamed spinach wasn't exactly the creamy, bechamel-based concoction one is used to here in the UK, it is more similar to what one often gets in the States- a rich, buttery cream sauce with spinach marinating in it. We didn't have time for desserts, which is a shame because the apple beignettes sounded amazing. Their mint julep is the perfect mix of slushy ice and mint, the best this side of the pond. Mr S tried the WhistlePig Rye and pronounced it lovely and mellow and, indeed, a hint of bubblegum, just as described. The music was not too loud, and a fun mix of classic rock/country pop style tunes. The other diners were a good mix of all ages. All in all a really relaxing and satisfying evening. I think it will be a lunch staple for us when we come to Guildford on the weekends.

"Okay"
3/6
Emily C S.2 years ago · 7 reviews

At first appearances this place looked great. Nice atmosphere and decor, quite clean. The menu was incredibly enticing, especially as my husband is from a Southern a American family and we really love a real soUthern BBQ dinner. Unfortunately, despite arriving in an early empty restaurant, our family was seated right by the door, practically in the middle of what became a very busy bar. Making the best of it, we ordered drinks (Arnold Palmers) for the kids and cocktails for adults, and appetisers. The Palmers were quite sour- not really good for kids, despite being on the kids menu. So we bought two more drinks instead. The corn dogs were tasty, but the wings were disappointingly bland, a crispy battered chicken wing with several choices of sauce. Should have been good, but somehow wasn't. After a further 30 minute wait (and over an hour after we sat) our entrees arrived. The fried chicken burgers- again, looked great, but had a strange ashy taste- perhaps the coleslaw seasonings were off? Fries were decent. The brisket (apparently a new items) arrived looking amazing, but once more, despite a generous portion of tender meat, it had a strong gamey taste, which I really hope doesn't come back to haunt me later. The pickles (usually my favourite part) were metallic tasting, and sadly, the homemade baked beans were watery and missing that lovely smokey sweet taste they should have. However, the, cornbread slices were tasty- (a quick sear on the grille would improve them even further!) but they were the only thing I was able to finish during the meal so I'll just be grateful they were in the plate. My daughter's "chocolate sundae" was vanilla ice cream with a 4 teeny pieces of either chocolate chips or brownie. The rest of us couldn't face the prospect of dessert. So, the pluses: The service was solid all around- we had several different people wait on us, they were lovely and friendly ,and they all communicated well with one another about our order. The cocktails looked amazing and my husband really enjoyed the Mint Julep, which is an easy drink to mess up. The portion sizes for the foods were just right, and the variety on the menu was enormous (maybe they're trying to cover too much ground here?) again, lovely atmosphere, easy to find location, parking close by, etc. We even had a food allergy we had to be aware of, which was handled Very well- allergen ingredient cards were available quickly and easily. However, at the end of the day, the food was just a miss. Everything else was great. It tries so hard, I wanted to love it, (believe me, I'm dying to find a new Saturday night Go-To place!) but the food just doesn't justify the trip into Guildford.

"Okay"
3/6
Fiona M.2 years ago · 3 reviews

A completely different experience last night. Very loud "Fairground" Music, very few customers. Lots of staff rushing around, but not making eye contact with their customers, so opportunities missed to take orders. When a 2nd drink order was FINALLY placed, the order was not fulfilled, despite the server coming back to recheck the selected wine. An overhead fan was blowing cold air at high speed over us. We had to ask twice to have this turned off. The family on the table behind us complained to the manager about their meal and got a discount of some kind. Our starter and main courses were very good but very long delays in between courses. The recommended dessert, blueberry and apple crumbler was loaded, and I mean LOADED with brandy, to the point where it tasted awful - like very alcoholic Christmas Pudding. The cost of the dessert was removed from our bill. The Saving Grace was our very lovely waitress, who we gathered is a drama student, a sweet girl who was very apologetic about our experience. Don't think we will bother going back. The manager could have done a lot more to ensure the smooth running of the restaurant, and made sure his few customers were happy.

"Good"
4/6
Mark T.2 years ago · 1 review

It's a nice enough restaurant, a definite sniff of Cote Bistro about it, which a little strange given its American not French. I feel this is in the wrong part of Guildford and as such just wasn't busy for a Saturday night. They had also run out of 300g Rib Eye (we work in oz over here FYI) which is pretty poor for a Saturday night. I ordered the burger, which was alarmingly pink in the middle. Burgers should always be cooked through. The drinks menu is just confusing, draught beer by the half pint or 2 pint jug only? No Pints? And the bottles, no sizes on the menu, according to the waitress come in smaller sizes than half pint?!?! Surely not! Also beware of automatic 12.5 percent service charge on the bill. Tipping is NOT customary in the U.K., and adding it to the bill is presumptuous.

"Good"
4/6
Laura B.a year ago · 1 review

the staff were welcoming and we were shown to our table- it was a bit of a squash for two- one person at the back felt very hemmed in and the one in the aisle felt in the way.... Cocktails list is good, bottled beers ok, not much choice on wine by the glass and no descriptions of the wines beyond a heading. Food was swiftly brought, so you could certainly eat here if you were in a hurry, but we didn't feel as though they wanted us out either. The BBQ platter was tasty, possibly just a little overseasoned as there were 3 different flavours on one plate, though that's a personal feeling, not necessarily a criticism. It's the kind of place where you feel you know what you'll get, and that is exactly what you get :) Quite enjoyable, but not exciting.

"Excellent"
6/6
Jenny G.2 years ago · 6 reviews

Really enjoyed my first visit to Jackson & Rye in Guildford. Went Friday evening for dinner with friends. Lovely relaxed ambience & welcoming waiting staff. Food was delicious, and there was a good choice on the menu. Can highly recommend the baby rack of ribs! Will definitely go back. The only slight negative is we had to wait a while before getting our bill, which added a bit of a delay at the end of the evening.